#NaNoWriMo – Day 17

Time for a small cheer, my novel is over 40,000 words. Yay! It’s somehow a big relief to pass that mark. The story is at a good point too, although I have one of them grumbling about his name…again. I thought Taksil was a perfectly good name, but he disagrees.

It’s been interesting to do this. I don’t usually do much editing when I write the rough draft, I just try to get the words on the page as fast as I can so I don’t lose the story. They take a lot of editing to get in a form I want anyone to look at, and still I think they’re painful for my writing group of read through. Yes, I do outline. I think Obsidian Sun has had more planning than anything I’ve written before, but it has certainly deviated from the outline. For the better I think, of course there are places where it’s going to need heavy editing. I’m discovering the little time outs I usually work on beside whatever is my main project let me do more planning than I was giving them credit for.

So, anyway. No guesses as to when it will be done, but I’m in the final stretch.

Leave a Reply

