45,000 words NaNoWriMo

Today I passed the 45,000 word mark with my NaNoWriMo novel. I’m glad I got ahead during the first part, or I would be concerned now.

It’s been interesting focusing most of my writing on this one thing for the month. I can write it fairly quickly I discovered. I also think giving myself permission to “fix it later” is the only way this novel would have ever came to life. Too many terms and names that I would have considered forever have evolved over the course of writing it. For example, I didn’t want it to feel contemporary, and in the case of time spans I didn’t want to use modern terminology. So I have sunspin as a day, a moonspin is a month and…I’m still working on an hour. But the culture is centered around weaving and spinning, so I wanted tie backs to the culture.

Okay, getting ready for anther push. One more week!

Leave a comment