Double Trouble: Chapter 62

Wednesday Briefs

For more free flash reading check out the list of authors at the bottom of this post.


Chapter 62

Rob was sitting on the patio while Mitch tended the steaks and veggies on the grill. Mitch glanced inside to see Darrin and Orin talking while they drank wine and got the meal ready. When he turned back, Rob was smirking at him. Mitch had started to like the guy, he wasn’t at all what he’d expected.

“I was.”

Mitch cocked his head at the man. “You were what?”

“An underwear model. Most people wonder so I thought I’d just put it out there.” He smiled at Mitch and motioned his hand up and down the length of Mitch’s body. “But then you don’t look like you’d have any trouble finding a modeling job either. You know, I threatened to wear something like what you’ve got on. I thought it might make an impact on two cowboys.”

“And why didn’t you?”

“Because Orin said he would kill me in a painful way…and no sex for the rest of my life.” He motioned to Mitch’s outfit. “What about you? How did you manage to get your look past the hubby.”

“Oh, I didn’t. And he’s going to kill me.”

“I could strip off my shirt. Then we could both be in trouble.”

“Or I could put on clothes that aren’t cutting off the circulation to my nuts.”

Rob relaxed against his seat and chuckled. “And where’s the fun in that?”

Mitch tried to adjust himself and discovered the pants really were cutting into him in painful ways. He decided the fun with Darrin had went on long enough. Grinning at Rob, he handed him the tongs. “Keep an eye on the steaks. Turn ‘em in a minute or two. I’ll be right back.”

Rob took the tool from Mitch’s hand and motioned him away. “I got this. Go take care of the jewels.”

Mitch walked through the living room and couldn’t help but see Darrin’s glare. At this point the jeans were so uncomfortable that he didn’t care about the daggers being shot at him. He made his way to the bedroom. As soon as the door clicked shut, he was digging at the buttons to the jeans that were cutting off his circulation.

The first couple popped free and Mitch breathed a sigh of relief and rubbed his abdomen. “Crap, it’s not going to be worth the ass chewing Darrin is going to give me,” Mitch muttered, A few seconds later the offending pair of jeans hit the floor and Mitch stepped out of them. He adjusted himself and walked over to his closet.

“Everything okay in here?” Darrin asked from the door.

“Yeah. Just changing pants. Got something on the pair I had on.”

Darrin smirked at him and lifted an eyebrow. “Can’t you just paint over whatever part didn’t match anymore?”

He shot Darrin a quizzical look. “What?”

“Yeah, the last pair were so tight they had to be painted on so I figured you could just touch up anything that got messed up.”

Mitch ignored Darrin while he rummaged in his closet for a minute or so. He knew Darrin was still standing there, but really didn’t know what to do. Or worse, what to say.

“I’m still pissed off at you,” Mitch said.

“I know.”

“You let them walk all over you. You work hard for what you get.”

Darrin met Mitch’s gaze for the first time since he’d walked in the room. “They don’t get away with nearly as much as you think. I don’t let them, but I don’t handle it the same way you would.” Darrin smirked and winked at Mitch. “Not that I wouldn’t like to break a few bones in your style when they get shitty.”

“I never broke any bones.”

Darrin rolled his eyes. “Seems like I remember differently. I believe you punched a few people in the nose while we were in college. Maybe not so many since we moved here, but you were quite the brawler when we were in school.”

“Those don’t count. They were too stupid to live, much less breed. They needed a whipping. Besides, I don’t think I ever broke anything.”

“There were a lot of bloody noses. I’m sure you broke one or two.”

“Noses don’t really break. It’s just kind of smashed.”

“Ah huh.”

“Besides, these guys could be setting you up.”

Darrin shrugged. “They’re already here. Let’s try and relax. I’d like to have a good evening.”

Mitch leaned closer and couldn’t stop himself. “Is Owen hung?”


If you’d like to see a snippet from the other Wednesday Briefs authors you can go to the groups website. Or click on the name listed below to go directly to the story.

Leave a Reply

