Double Trouble: Chapter 58

Wednesday Briefs

For more free flash reading check out the list of authors at the bottom of this post.


Chapter 58

Darrin pulled the blanket around himself, staring into space as Mitch got ready for bed. He’d been struggling with a decision for days now. It was work, it was home, it all seemed so over whelming. He wished he could talk with Nanna, but she was gone for a few months. Something important, Jim had assured him.

Mitch walked to the bathroom door, leaned his naked hip against the frame and brushed his teeth. Darrin glanced to Mitch, but he couldn’t see any more than a dark silhouette in the light of the bathroom.

“You think I can’t make a decision.”

Mitch shook his head from side to side.

“You don’t think I can do it.”

Mitch shook a fist at him and growled through the toothpaste.

“Okay, okay. I got it. I know that was bullshit. I guess that wasn’t fair.”

Mitch shook his head in agreement and then ducked back into the bathroom. A minute or so later he reappeared at the door. He studied Darrin before clicking off the light and making his way to bed. He flipped back the quilts and crawled beside Darrin before covering then and curling against Darrin.

Darrin waited for several minutes in the dark before trying to continue the conversation. “So now you have to answer my question. How are you going to feel about being the husband of the department head?”

Mitch pressed his naked body against Darrin, running his hands over Darrin’s chest and stomach. “Let’s make out.”

Darrin began feeling frustrated and moved away. “Come on, Mitch. Be serious.”

A growl sounded next to Darrin’s ear. “I am serious. I want to fuck, and you want to talk about work. Tell you anything?”

“Hey, I’m serious. I need to decide, and you keep avoiding the subject every time I bring it up.” He scooted over a few inches and rolled into the sheet. “You’re not going to distract me with sex instead of talking about this.”

“You sure?” Mitch reached up and rolled Darrin’s nipple between his fingers.

Darrin bit back a groan and pulled Mitch’s hand away. He rolled himself more thoroughly in the sheet, only to turn back and find Mitch slowly stroking his rock hard cock.

“Good God! You’d think you just discovered that thing. Can you please stop the crap and talk to me?”

Mitch sighed but pulled the quilt around him. “Fine. But you’ve already decided.”

“I have not. I want to talk to you about it.”

“Then no, I don’t want you to do it. The stress will kill you.”

Darrin frowned and crinkled his forehead. “Oh. Okay. I guess I’ll tell them we aren’t interested tomorrow then.”

“You know, sometimes I just want to beat the shit out of you. You piss me off so much!”

“What? I didn’t do anything. You said you didn’t want me to be chairman, so I won’t.”

“Oh damn you piss me off. Since when have you ever done exactly what I wanted you to do? I don’t like it, then fucking convince me this new job is exactly what you need to do.”

Darrin started to argue, but then considered his husband. One of the things he loved dearly about the man, Mitch was always a straight shooter. If you asked a question, you were going to get the unvarnished truth. He was also quick to call bullshit if you were trying to fool yourself, and him. So he gathered his thoughts and started.

“Well for one thing, I’ve been there for ten years. If I want to try administration, this is a good time. I’ve got tenure and am past all that stuff, but I’m not at the same point as some of the old guard and just counting down my days until I teach my last class and retire.”

“Okay, I can see that. What else? Mitch said.

“Well, there is more money, quite a bit more money. I know you say it’s not a big deal. But we could take a few more vacations. Maybe go somewhere like New Zealand or something. I wouldn’t mind taking some big trips like that.”

Mitch nodded and looked thoughtful. “I wouldn’t mind taking a few trips. We should be able to leave things with Trent and Josh and do some traveling. Extra money would help with that.” He studied Darrin for a few minutes and then cocked his head to the side. “What else you got?”

Darin sighed and slumped against the bed. “I guess that’s it. Doesn’t sound very impressive.” He sighed.

Mitch pulled them tight together. “You should do it. I’ll have your back. We’ll even invite the assholes to the ranch for a barbecue. We’ll bring out every ounce of sparkle.”

Darrin wasn’t sure if he should crack up laughing or be hopelessly confused. “What? You think I should do it?”

“Sure. You have good reasons. Of course I’ll support you. And if any of them mess with my husband I’ll kick their ass.”

Darrin did let out the laughter he’d been holding. “Okay, I’m in for it then.”

“Good,” Mitch said. “Now get over here and make whoopee with your husband.”

Darrin’s laughter increased in volume. “Make whoopee?”

Mitch pushed Darrin on his back, curled down, and bite down on his nipple.

“Oh, fuck. Whoopee!”


If you’d like to see a snippet from the other Wednesday Briefs authors you can go to the groups website. Or click on the name listed below to go directly to the story.

 

Leave a Reply

