Double Trouble: Chapter 25

Wednesday Briefs

For more free flash reading check out the list of authors at the bottom of this post.


Chapter 25

Trent waved at the driver of the deep red four-by-four pickup as he left. He stood watching until the pickup disappeared down the county road. Jeez, I’m starting to feel sorry for all the shit I dished out to Mitch.

He was still trying to decide how this would go down with Benji when he heard the deep rumble of the diesel pickup Mitch drove. He wasn’t surprised. Mitch seemed to have that kind of timing. His sudden appearance served to relax Trent to a degree. He’s certainly had more than his share of dealing with horny young men.

He waved as Mitch swung down from the cab of the massive pickup. “Afternoon, Mitch. How are things going?”

Mitch paused and studied Trent for a minute or so, enough that he squirmed under the scrutiny. “What’s up? I know that look too well.”

“I have no idea what you’re talking about. I’m just chilling outside to give Josh time to finish getting a presentation ready for a client.”

“Bullshit. You have that same look you get everytime shit hits the fan. Now spill, otherwise you know Darrin will send me up here to get the info because I can’t hide stuff from him any more than you can from me.”

Trent exhaled slowly and shook his head. “You know, I have kids and a husband. You shouldn’t be able to work me like this anymore.”

Mitch began to laugh. “Oh you are so wrong. My mom can still play me like a fiddle. Now…what’s up?”

Trent frowned at Mitch for a few moments before letting out a sigh. “I think Benji has a boyfriend. They disappear a lot. I know I need to talk to him about it, but I’m not sure what to say.”

“Tell him to wear one of the damn condoms, that’s what you say.”

Trent rolled his eyes and looked back at Mitch in time to see Benji leaving the barn. He was busy tucking his shirt back into his jeans. Trent realized he looked completely different than when they’d first found him at the fairgrounds. Just like I don’t look anything like the kid the sheriff delivered to Darrin and Mitch.

But he shifted his focus back. “Of course I’ve talked to him about condoms. He has at least a box full.”

“So what’s the problem?”

Trent sighed. “This is hot quarterback meat with pretty blue eyes and Benji looks at him like a puppy.”

“Ah, so you need to prevent a case of the stupids then.”

Trent couldn’t help but smile. “That pretty much sums it up.”

There was a bang and both men turned in time to see Benji go into the shop. Mitch turned back to Trent with a smile.

“Looks like a good time. No rug rats, no Josh. Just talk to him, not down to him. You ain’t the source of all knowledge.”

“Fine, whatever. Hang around, old man. I may need some help.”

“I doubt it, but I wouldn’t miss this for the world. I’ll be in the house. Fill me in when it’s over.”

“Great,” Trent grumbled as he walked toward the shop. He never looked back even though he could hear laughter coming from Mitch. He refused to acknowledge the humor in the situation. By the time he’d covered the distance, he was not looking forward to the discussion. Maybe I could have talked Mitch into doing this instead of me. He looked back to see Mitch standing with his arms crossed and a grin plastered across his face.

Crap.

He stepped into the doorway and waited for his eyes to adjust to the dimly lit interior. After a moment his eyes adjusted and he spotted Benji rummaging through the back of the room. He waited a minute but when he didn’t turn, Trent cleared his throat. He surpassed a laugh when the young man jumped a good foot.

“Shit! I didn’t know you were there.”

“Kinda gathered as much. I thought you were going to blast us a new skylight.”

Benji stood for a few minutes, his hand over his chest as he calmed down. Trent had no problem waiting, he wasn’t eager to begin this conversation. Benji looked at him and cocked his head. “What’s up? You don’t look too happy.”

“Well, we’ve noticed Stephen is around…a lot.”

Benji’s face flushed crimson and he ducked his head. “Yeah. I guess.” He glanced quickly at Trent. “He’s just a friend though.”

Trent snorted. “More like a friend with benefits. I’m not stupid. Give me a little break here.”

Benji hung his head, looking like a scolded puppy. When the silence stretched out, Trent knew it was up to him to say what needed to be said.

“Okay, look. You’re not in trouble or anything. Good God you’re eighteen and legal even in this state. But I wanted to remind you to be safe. We don’t want anything to happen to you.”

Benji looked puzzled for a few moments and then started grinning. “This is the sex talk?”

It was Trent’s turn to be bashful. “Yeah. I guess so. I mean I’d got you condoms and everything. But we’ve never really talked about what’s safe and stuff.”

Benji’s grin got even larger. “Don’t sweat it, Trent. I know about all the risks and that you need a condom for more than just anal.”

A weight lifted from Trent and he motioned toward Benji again. “Okay, I just had to check.”

“No problem. I’m good.”

Trent turned to leave when Benji called him back again. “Hey, Trent.”

He paused, turned and blinked at the serious looking young man. “Yeah? What’s up?”

“I was just going to ask if you couldn’t get some flavored condoms. Those regular ones taste pretty awful.”

 


 

If you’d like to see a snippet from the other Wednesday Briefs authors you can go to the groups website. Or click on the name listed below to go directly to the story.

 

Leave a Reply

