Controller: Chapter 15

Wednesday BriefsHello everyone. Welcome to another Wednesday Briefs. Be sure and check out the other authors listed at the end of this chapter.


Chapter 15

Eli’s anger was plain as he paced the room at a furious speed. “He actually played with himself? What the hell! He’s a sick bastard.”

“Shh, I don’t want anyone else to know what happened. He’ll flunk me for sure.”

Eli froze, his eyebrows curving to a V-shape in the middle of his forehead. “Flunk you? You’re worried about him flunking you?”

I couldn’t believe how angry Eli was. I didn’t know what I felt. It had been so nasty, but it had turned me on a little too, which made me sick to my stomach. I had to pass this class, and Davidson had been clear what I needed to do for a passing grade.

“We have to report this. He’s probably doing this to other students too. That’s just sick, man.”

I grabbed Eli’s arm as he swung by again and pulled him to a stop. “Eli, I can’t. He’ll flunk me. I can’t fail this class. It’s too late to drop it without a grade too.”

Eli took a deep breath and made a visible effort to calm himself. “We can’t let him get away with this, Nate. Surely there’s something you can do without giving him the power over you.” He stood quietly as he obviously considered his options. With a nod of his head he studied at me. “I know one of the councilors on campus. She’ll know what to do, and keep you from taking the blame.”

I barely had time to grab my jacket before we shot out the door. Campus flew past as Eli pulled me to whatever destination was obviously strongly imprinted in his mind. We took shortcuts through buildings I didn’t even know were on campus. Shortly we were racing toward a formal four-story building that practically screamed administration.

We sped down the marble floored hallway flanked on either side by darkly somber wood panels. I dug in my heels and pulled Eli to a stop.

“Eli, where are we going? I don’t want to cause a big uproar.”

Eli nodded his head firmly. “Yes, you do. No one should be able to do what Davidson did to you. It’s, it’s, well, it’s abuse. Just talk to Heather. I swear she won’t put you in any kind of bind.”

I was completely rattled now. I’d been upset about the whole thing. That’s why I’d told him in the first place. But now, now the situation was getting out of control. I wasn’t sure about this. When I glanced at Eli, all I saw was fierce determination. “Okay, I’ll talk to this person. But please don’t pressure me to do something I don’t want to do.”

Eli frowned at me for several moments and then sighed. “You’re right. I shouldn’t pressure you.” He shot me a small smile. “But since we’re already here…”

I threw up my hands and laughed. “Okay, okay. I give. I’ll talk to her.”

The next thing I knew the Eli Express had taken flight again. But only a few turns and twists later we were in a set of offices that were the exact opposite of the formal hallways marching in regiment through the rest of the building. While Eli blurted out something to the student at the desk, I eyed around the room. There were posters, photographs and images of smiling students. The thing that was immediately obvious, this wasn’t the typical white bread mix of students. Some photos were only of people of color, every race on campus was represented.

It finally dawned on me. Eli had taken me to the campus diversity office. Shit! This is exactly what I didn’t need.

“Hi, Nate. Glad to meet you.”

I met the gaze of a tall dark haired woman smiling at me and holding out her hand. Her alto voice was very comforting. I shook her hand without a word.

“Eli says we need to talk. Let’s go to my office.”

We followed her down and interior hallway to a bright spacious office proclaiming Heather as the director of LGBT Services for campus. She motioned us to a small round table as she settled into one of the chairs and smiled at me. “So, what happened. Eli didn’t go into much detail.”

I scowled at Eli, who looked completely un-repentant. After gathering my thoughts, I turned back to her. “I suppose so. But like I’ve told Eli a dozen times now, I don’t want to cause trouble. I have to pass this class.”

Heather moved slowly and sat her pen down beside the pad of paper. Her face had shifted in that instant to deadly serious. “We will protect your privacy, Nate. But why don’t you tell me what happened.”

I glowered at Eli and turned back to her. “It’s really embarrassing. And what if I misunderstood. It’s his word against mine.”

Heather took a deep breath, laid her hand on my and squeezed. “Why don’t you tell me everything and I’ll decide. Don’t be embarrassed to tell me anything.”

I sat for a minute and considered. I still wasn’t sure and with more time I was less certain what really had happened. Steeling myself to an unpleasant task, I began telling Heather about his encounter with Dr. Davidson. Neither she nor Eli said a word as I went through the entire episode again. When I finished, Heather’s face had the same expression of anger as Eli’s had.

She stood and moved to a filing cabinet and flipped through folders for a moment and pulled out a particularly thick one that she spread out on her desk. “Dr. Lynn Davidson, Chemistry department, right?”

I nodded, wondering where this was going. “Yeah, that’s the one.”

Heather sat for quite some time and studied me until I was squirming under her gaze. “Nate, I need your help…”


If you’d like to see a snippet from the other Wednesday Briefs authors you can go to the groups website. Or click on the name listed below to go directly to the story.

Leave a Reply

