Hump day release

Here’s a little more from Growing Josh. This chapter is getting close to release so stay tuned.

Trent stood looking at the headstone. Josh had stepped back, giving Trent some private space, but close enough that in the verdant silence Trent could still hear his quiet breath. He flipped a glance over his shoulder to see his uncle waiting beside the jeep. He looked back to the marker, already wearing a coating of moss like a fluffy goose down comforter. Trent eased himself down, kneeling on the soft ground as he pulled a few stray weeds from around the base of the stone. As Trent patted the lightly disturbed soil back into place, he started to speak, almost in a whisper.

“It’s been a long time, Dad. I’ve really missed you. I can’t even begin to tell you how much. Some nights, when I was little, I’d pretend you were coming to tuck me in, kiss me and tell me to get some sleep. I wouldn’t of course, so you’d read me a story until I would crash. Some nights that kept me sane.

Leave a Reply

